Philippians 1: 27

I am blessed to be part of the large group of saints throughout the world memorizing Philippians. Today we start week 5 and this is the opening verse for the week.

John MacArthur says in his commentary to this epistle,

“He (Paul) calls them (the Philippians) to look carefully into their own hearts to determine if they have spiritual integrity. That appeal applies, of course, to every follower of Christ in every place and time”

May we take time today to examine our hearts, our walk, our manner of life… are we living a life worthy of the gospel of Christ?

Soli Deo Gloria

To read some of my reflections on Philippians go here and here.

 

You are welcome to download today’s image and use it as your wallpaper. The only thing I ask is that you leave a comment telling me you will do so. Thanks

This entry was published on Sunday, January 30, 2011 at 3:55 am. It’s filed under Heaven, Scripture & A Snapshot and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Philippians 1: 27

  1. Love your photo and scripture… just beautiful!

    joy & blessings,
    Alida

  2. wonderful clear shot and verse to go with it.

  3. That is wonderful that you are all challenging each other in that way! What an encouragement you can be to each other! I love the blue, blue sky against the green in your photo!

  4. I have been thinking about this verse all weekend. Did you know that the Greek word for “manner of life” is the same word the Romans used to live as a free citizen. It’s the same word we get “politic” from. So Paul is saying literally to live as a free citizen worthy of the gospel of Christ, which he later ties into being a citizen of heaven (chp. 3). Cool, eh? 🙂

    • Emily… I am so blessed to find out that we are on the same page so often! Yes, I also read about that in John MacArthur’s commentary. Thought it was pretty amazing!

      Love you, my friend!

  5. Yep, I should keep working on that!

  6. What a gorgeous Verse and Photo pairing. And so fantastic to be working through Philippians. 🙂

  7. Beautiful! I got to your website through “Penned Pebbles” and I love your pics…I used the Joshua highlighted verse as my background. One of my seminary professors challenged us to make a life-long project out of locating every incidence of that phrase that occurs in scripture…Almost 20 years later, I am still amazed at how the counsel of His word teaches that “he will never fail nor abandon us” throughout its glorious pages.

Leave a Reply

