How to Eat a Good Chocolate Bar

I promised I would write a post on “How to Eat a Good Chocolate Bar” a few weeks ago. And here it is.

1. Buy an “expensive”  chocolate bar. Yes, I am not joking! If you buy a good chocolate bar, you would not be tempted to eat the whole thing at once. Remember, eat only one square a day…

(This is the first time we tried a Mo’s Dark Bacon Bar by Vosges©  We ate it in honor to some of my dear friends: Elizabeth, Christine, and Diana.)

2. Open it slowly, look at it and smell it.

3. Break a piece. Snap it!

4. Take a bite. Take a good bite, but wait, not so fast.

5. Let it melt in your mouth, taste it, enjoy it. Little by little, savor it.

6. Share it. As I always tell my children, “a piece of chocolate, as with all things, tastes better when you share it!”

Want some?

And for the taste, to this new flavor we give it an 8. It is not as you would imagine. It is not very weird, it tastes salty, but never as delicious as the Lyndt chocolate bar with a touch of sea salt.

Enjoy!

Soli Deo Gloria

 

 

This entry was published on Saturday, June 11, 2011 at 10:53 pm. It’s filed under Coffee Time, Textures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

19 thoughts on “How to Eat a Good Chocolate Bar

  1. 😀 Wonderful 🙂

    Seriously, this is making me actually WANT to try some bacon chocolate….but maybe first I’ll have to try the salty chocolate 🙂

    I applaud you, and Nikko, for your ability to eat one square at a time….this is an ability I have yet to acquire, but I am working on it 😉

    Thank you for this post, Becky. Even though it is 10am here, my chocolate taste buds are fully awake now 🙂

  2. Bravo! As I read and watched Nikko demonstrating the technique with the perfect amount of panache, I realized I could only say no to dark chocolate and bacon, no matter how expensive or fine the dark chocolate. Dark chocolate and sea salt? Ahhh, now we’re talking. Heavenly bliss in a bar that’s just right for eating and sharing, one exquisite square at a time!

  3. Oh, yeah!!!!

    This is the professional step-by-step guide we’ve all been waiting for!

    Thank you, Nikko, for showing us how it’s done.
    Want to know my favorite picture? Ninth one down from the top, called “Taste.”

    One square at a time,
    -E

  4. Photographs # 9 and 11 were my favorites. Anticipation and savor resulting in taste bud bliss…

    I agree. Thank you, Nikko, for doing such a fine job with the taste test and the demo!

  5. Hmmm….after reviewing those photographs more slowly….there was just a moment of maybe…..

    Followed by a content little “not.” 😉

  6. My apologies…..Nico 🙂

  7. YUM!!! I love it! Who could resist a chocolate bar now after observing these pictures!! Thank you for this wonderful instruction…just might have to go seeking some chocolate myself now.

  8. ROFL!!!! Okay, I hereby GIVE MY WORD to try the weird concoction of dark chocolate (bliss) and bacon (which seems in my mind would MESS UP THE BLISS!!!!) But hey, nothing ventured, nothing gained. Oysters once seemed gross to me too.

  9. Oh, and that dark-eyed boy?? What a precious lad!!!! And a useful prop as well! 😉

  10. I applaud you, Christine. Our positions on the subject have now completely reversed.

    As I explained on Diana’s FB page, I’m satisfied that it’s been tested and tried in the perfect manner by the finest of taste testers taste buds and received a perfectly respectable score. Any slight curiosity that might have existed, though I doubt I had much of any, has been quite thoroughly satisfied and there is simply no reason to replicate such a fine process. I’m quite content that the matter has been settled for me. 🙂

    I am the type of person, however, that if this bar were sitting before me, my curiosity would be piqued just enough that I would probably try one little square. I just won’t go out of my way to do so. 😉

    I am so intrigued by the photos. Each one is so different. Nico has such good facial expressions that show each moment from first taste to the determination that this chocolate bar is indeed good. Very nicely done!

  11. Have to say, having reflected on this post ALL DAY LONG 😉 I think they need to redesign the wrapping for this chocolate bar. Frankly, I look at the wrapping and think as dear Ruthie – my curiosity is satisfied by dear Nico’s scientific experiment on behalf of chocolate lovers everywhere. Then I find myself looking at the actual chocolate itself and the expression on Nico’s face…and I am with Christine now, I WILL INDEED try this “weird concoction” at some point 😉

  12. I’m getting there myself, Diana! LOL!

  13. OKAY. So my mom has taught me all my life many, many things….chocolate eating among these. I just hope she never makes an exam on the subject because I would certainly get an F. In the pictures I might look like a good ole’ kiddo eating one square a time. Ummm….no. Patience is a virtue I do not have….especially when it comes to eating chocolate. And by the way, concerning the look in my face in those pictures….it’s up to you to decide whether I enjoyed it or not. Now, turn off your computer and go buy some bacon chocolate. Oh, and good luck 😀

  14. I love these photos Becky, he’s just adorable savoring his chocolate bar. I think this would have been much harder with a female model, you may have only had two photos. 🙂 For some reason I think Bacon and Maple syrup, but hey chocolate covered anything has to be much better. At least it’s not those deep fried concoctions they serve in the UK like deep fried candy bars. I would eat just about anything but batter dipped chocolate, maybe not so great! I am going to run right out and get some chocolate, I really like the sea salt and dark chocolate, but extra dark with blueberry is my favorite. That and any kind of chocolate with caramel. Good chocolate, semi good chocolate, does not matter. After all I am the strange kid Mom caught in the pantry with baking chocolate smeared all over her 5 year old face. What a wonderful post Becky!

  15. Thank you for your comments, Nikko. I have now seen Nikko and Nico so perhaps it’s either one?? I thought I spelled it wrong earlier 🙂

    #9 is still my favorite photo. I gave my friend’s mother salty chocolate with almonds and her face showed me what true bliss looks like when not hidden, faked, or muted in any way 🙂 It was obvious that she was in full taste bud bliss. I decided that 11 really doesn’t show that. I see thinking and possible savoring going on but bliss? I don’t see it but that doesn’t mean it didn’t occur. Just not an obvious portrayal here. 🙂

    I turned off the computer for the rest of the day to enjoy celebrating my nephew’s graduation with family and friends. Upon my return home, I decided that you still won’t find me buying salty dark chocolate with bacon anytime soon. 🙂

    Teresa, I love the visual you created of you as a 5 year old with a chocolate smeared face!

    Fun post, Becky, with fun follow up on here and on FB!

  16. Nikko – I want to give you a big hug for your honesty in saying that you don’t eat your chocolate one square at a time. I’ve been feeling so mortified about the fact that like you I seem to lack a teensy weensy bit of patience when eating chocolate compared with your mum, and certain of her friends, like Elizabeth…but, phew, I can be honest myself now and say that a chocolate bar has to be eaten in its entirety to appreciate its full flavour 🙂

  17. Loved all the pictures, great job, Nikko! 🙂

  18. Oh, yeah – it’s Nikko. =)

    Yes Mrs. Diana! We have to get together some time and eat a few chocolate bars…in one sitting! (Sorry mum)

Leave a Reply

