32/ 100 Days of Books -A Wonderful Audio Book-

This is a wonderful audio-book to listen in the car.

“People talk about how wonderful the world seems to children, and that’s true enough. But children think they will grow into it and understand it, and I know very well that I will not, and would not if I had a dozen lives.”

“People who feel any sort of regret where you are concerned will suppose you are angry, and they will see anger in what you do, even if you’re just quietly going about a life of your own choosing. They will make you doubt yourself, which, depending on cases, can be a severe distraction and a waste of time. This is a thing I wish I had understood much earlier than I did.”

“Rejoice with those who rejoice.” I have found that difficult too often. I was much better at weeping with those who weep.”

“…not deciding to act would be identical with deciding not to act.”

“A little too much anger, too often or at the wrong time, can destroy more than you would ever imagine.”

“There are a thousand  reasons to live this life, every one of them sufficient.”

“Adulthood is a wonderful thing, and brief. You must be sure to enjoy it while it lasts.”

“It seems to me some people just go around lookin’ to get their faith unsettled. That has been the fashion for the last hundred years or so.”

“Sometimes I have loved the peacefulness of an ordinary Sunday. It is like standing in a newly planted garden after a warm rain. You can feel the silent and invisible life.”

“I’ve developed a great reputation for wisdom by ordering more books than I ever had time to read, and reading more books, by far, than I learned anything useful from.”

― Marilynne Robinson, Gilead

This entry was published on Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 9:38 pm. It’s filed under 100 Days of Books, Books, City Life, iPhone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “32/ 100 Days of Books -A Wonderful Audio Book-

  1. I’m so glad you liked it!

  2. I listened to that on audio, too. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

